EZaccessMD vs. Amwell
Amwell has been in digital healthcare for 20 years, and its site cites roughly 90 million members with Amwell as a covered benefit, delivered mostly through health plans and health systems on its platform. Behavioral health is a genuine strength. But Amwell's own urgent care page states its doctors are not able to order lab tests. Here's the honest side-by-side.
| Feature | EZaccessMD | Amwell |
|---|---|---|
| 24/7 telehealth consultations | Yes, 24/7/365 | Yes, urgent care 24/7/365 nationwide; therapy and psychiatry by appointment |
| In-home diagnostics (labs, imaging) | Yes: a medical technician comes to the home or workplace | Not offered; care is virtual, with follow-up referred to in-person providers |
| Lab tests | Ordered by the physician and drawn at the member's home | Urgent care doctors are not able to order lab tests, per their site |
| Rapid strep / flu / UTI testing at the visit | Yes, at the patient's location | No, visits are phone or video |
| E-prescriptions | Yes | Yes generally; no controlled substances, and most states require a video visit to prescribe |
| Member cost per visit | $0, including in-home visits | Set by plan benefits and copays; cash prices not published |
| Pay only for what you use | Yes: utilization-based pricing, with a renewal credit if usage runs below plan | Not published |
| Speed to a doctor | Physician callback within the hour | Clinician in minutes for urgent care, per their site; psychiatry typically within 14 days |
| Typical utilization | ~75% | Not published |
| Member Net Promoter Score | +85 | Not reported; they cite a >90% thumbs-up rating |
| Family coverage | The whole family included, no limit on dependents | Not reported |
| Mental / behavioral health | Yes, virtual, included at no additional cost | Yes: therapy, psychiatry, and digital behavioral programs |
The bottom line
Amwell's strengths are real: two decades in telehealth, a platform that powers virtual care for around 50 health plans, and behavioral health depth spanning therapy, psychiatry, and digital programs. For a health plan building virtual care into its own experience, that platform play is the pitch.
The boundary is physical, and their own pages draw it: urgent care doctors on Amwell cannot order lab tests, prescribing usually requires a video visit, and next steps get referred to in-person providers. When a symptom needs a swab, a draw, an X-ray, or an EKG, the virtual visit becomes a facility trip. EZaccessMD finishes that same episode at the member's door with a dispatched technician and a $0 copay, which is why our utilization runs near 75%. And EZaccessMD includes virtual mental and behavioral health at no additional cost as part of the same benefit.
Frequently asked questions
- Can Amwell run a lab test or take an X-ray at home?
- No. Amwell's own urgent care page states its doctors are not able to order lab tests, and no in-home or in-person delivery service is described on their site. EZaccessMD's physicians order labs and imaging that a medical technician performs at the member's home or workplace.
- Is Amwell built for employers?
- Amwell's business site is aimed primarily at health plans, health systems, and government; members typically reach it as a covered benefit through their plan. EZaccessMD is sold employer-first, with rollout, engagement, and reporting built for plan sponsors.
- How is EZaccessMD different from Amwell?
- Both offer 24/7 urgent care telehealth. The difference is what happens when a diagnosis needs more than a conversation: EZaccessMD extends the same visit with in-home rapid tests, labs, X-ray, ultrasound, and EKG in 22 states, so the episode resolves without a facility trip.
- Does EZaccessMD replace Amwell?
- For acute and urgent care, EZaccessMD covers the telehealth visit and the diagnostics behind it, and virtual mental health is included at no additional cost. Amwell's strength is behavioral depth at platform scale, so some plans still pair the two.